Again Again

Ezra’s favourite word seems to be “again”.

If I sing a new song or tune, “Again!”

If I give him a little tickle, “Again!”

If he hides from me, and I find him, “Again!”

If I jump out from behind something saying Boo, “Again!”

If I read a book to him, “Again!”

You get the picture. Sometimes he says it once, and I comply. Sometimes he shouts it at least 5 times while I stare at him wondering how many more times I have to do it before he loses interest (spoiler: he doesn’t, I have to distract him with something else to do again and again).

Repetition is how we all learn. The little scientist in him wants to make sure that each experiment is repeatable. Each outcome must be up to his high standard. I can see bits of my own obsessive nature in him already, poor kid.

What I find fascinating as he acquires more language and the tools to be understood is how he picks up the nuances of words. For a while he used again and more interchangeably. The concepts are remarkably similar. But now, without even thinking he knows to ask for “more straberries”, but “read again”.

He also likes to demand again of himself, so at least he treats everyone equally with regards to his ‘again’.

If Ezra pushes a toy down a ramp, “Again!”

If Ezra goes down the slide, “Again!”

72904902-132D-4042-A70E-35D31B9D6122

 

Leave a comment